Day 1: Making Process Portfolio

Today I am starting my journey of learning how to create a functioning analog synthesizer.

An analog synthesizer is a synthesizer that uses analog circuits and analog signals to generate sound electronically (Wikipedia).

You may ask, why am I doing this?

I became interested in this project when reading about the interesting, and thriving culture of synthesizer creators.

Synthesizer enthusiasts gather each year in May in order to attend a popular music, art, and technology themed festival called Moogfest. Moogfest is a festival held in Durham, North Carolina which celebrates Robert Moog- the man who pioneered electronic music by commercializing and creating his own “Moog Synthesizer.”

Upon doing a little more research, I discovered that people were actually making their own synthesizers from scratch, and showing off their creations at Moogfest.

I found it inspiring that a group of people sharing a common interest could get together and celebrate the innovations of Robert Moog, and continue his legacy by creating their own synthesizers.

How am I going to do this?

I am going to be gathering as much information as I possibly can from online sources such as webpages and youtube videos; which I will provide links for down below.

I also plan on gathering information from Ray Wilson’s “Make: Analog Synthesizers.”

And finally I plan to get advice regularly through my Dad who is an electrical engineer with a DIY spirit.

What will the final product be?

The final product will hopefully be a personalized functioning synthesizer.

Reflection

With each new post I hope to include a section where I can reflect on what I have learned, and where I am in the making process.

Leave a Reply

